Mac OSx Desktop Virtualisation ESXi

Posted: April 7, 2012 in VMWare
Tags: , , ,

I have a large virtual desktop environment is a senior school. This is currently at 110 units with another 60 getting ready to go in.

One of the things I’d like to be able to offer the students and teachers is the ability to select between a Mac or Windows desktop. More for educational purposes than anything else.

For some reason Apple have decided that I can only run OSx Virtual Desktops on Mac hardware.

VMware have on their supported hardware list the XServer 3.1 which is no longer available.

I have a 6 cluster HP DL380 ESX setup, I don’t want a Mac server. But I want the ability to use Mac Virtual Machines.

I think this is very short sighted of Apple and is closing the door on a whole host of future Apple users.

Unless of course…there is information out there that isn’t readily available that explains how to achieve this? I reserve the right to be wrong 🙂

If I’m not wrong, and you are also looking for this functionality then lets vote here, post this page wherever you can and see if we can get noticed!

It’s a win win for Apple and us. They receive revenue for the licensing, a whole host of future apple users (I have 1800 students at the school where this would be used) and we get to show the students another OS, benefit from being able to use Apple only products and features.

What’s not to like?! Come on Apple!!! sort it out!!

Comments
  1. Dave says:

    I agree but I understand why Apple doesn’t want this to happen. They don’t have software activation. If you can run their OS in a VM environment, the OS will be pirated like crazy. The wedding to Apple Hardware has insulated them from this up to this point but it won’t be forever.

    • demazter says:

      Of course, and I understand that.

      However the benefits definitely outlay the risks from Apples perspective. Especially because it’s being done anyway just not legally.

  2. Phil Hemingway says:

    YES!!! I agree. I’m a Sys Admin at a school as well. The students should drive their own education and we should be flexible enough to offer them tech options (MS, Linux, Mac) on which to educate themselves. With a VDI solution in place, we could do that IF we could be assured that we can emulate a Mac OS on non-Mac hardware. Why is it my problem (and consequently the student’s loss) Apple doesn’t have software activation? If they want to audit our OS license usage, or however they want to do it, that is fine by me. We’re not trying to break the law or steal. We just want what’s best for the students.

Leave a comment